Louis Joseph Dufilho Jr., America's first licensed pharmacist, originally owned the building which was called “Pharmacie Dufilho” or “La Pharmacie Francaise” or “apothecary shop”. On June 2,1822, Dufilho purchased the lot and construction began very soon after. In 1823 the Pharmacie Dufilho was opened on the ground floor. The Creole-style town house doubled as his home and he cultivated the herbs he needed in the interior courtyard. The City of New Orleans, in conjunction with Loyola University, has converted this old structure into a museum housing an old-time pharmacy which opened officially as a museum in 1950.
The museum have beautiful hand-carved rosewood cabinets from Germany. These 1860 cabinets display find handblown antique apothecary bottles, voodoo potions, medicinal herbs, rare patent medicines – “miracle cures and remedies”, live leeches, leech jars, “blood-letting” devices, 19th century trade cards, pharmacopoeias, prescription files, daily journals, civil war surgical instruments and suppository molds as well as the old glass cosmetics counter, a seamen’s medicine chest – the type used on whaling ships and other tools on exhibit.
The courtyard is where they filmed a scene in American Horror Story – Coven, a stop featured on the American Horror Story Unauthorized Tour.
The tour does not go inside the museum, however, we will give you directions on how to return to the museum.